Tyne Rivers Trust
Tyne Rivers Trust > The River Tyne

The Tyne is one of the most iconic rivers in the UK and is around 73 miles (118km) in length. Its two main tributaries (sources) are the South Tyne and the North Tyne, which converge at Warden Rock near Hexham at a placed known as ‘Watersmeet’. The North Tyne rises in the Cheviot Hills near the border with Scotland and the South starts in the Pennines in Cumbria.

The river flows through Hexham, Corbridge, Wyllam, Newcastle, Gateshead and Wallsend, entering the north Sea at Tynemouth, North Shields.

  • It is home to some of the most impressive bridges in the UK including the Tyne Bridge, the Swing Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge.
  • The entire catchment covers an area of 2,936km2
  • It contains 2,733miles(4,399km) of waterways in total
  • It is one of the cleanest rivers in the UK and the best salmon river in England

Tributaries of the Tyne

  • North Tyne – River Rede, Tarset Burn
  • South Tyne – River Allen, River Nent
  • Main Tyne – River Derwent, River Ouseburn, River Team, River Don

The river Tyne catchment is made up of huge contrasts, from the remote and barren sheep-grazed hills of the North Pennines to the densely-populated areas of Newcastle and Gateshead. This brings different challenges to each part of the river. The trust has a number of conservation and habitat projects in place to help address these issues.


Support Us

Donate to help us continue our work to support the Tyne.
This site uses cookies.
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.